Mi madre!

This week (practically – how good are 6 day weekends!) Mum was down for a visit. “Seems soon” you might be thinking, but it was all or nothing! You see, Mum will be away for my next two trips to Brisbane, so she thought it would be reasonable to take a visit to my humble abode. She was impressed too, which was good, because I’d spent all Thursday tidying the room up trying to make it look finished. This involved a long trip to Spotlight looking for the fabric which would be used for my room accents (curtains, table cloth etc). Of course this started in the bargain corner, where I was surprised that $6/m could be called a clearance. Alas, nothing for me there – all I had in my head was ‘modern, not boring but not too out there that it would clash with my bedspread.’

I luckily wandered around the store in the correct direction to slowly adjust to slightly more and more expensive fabrics, and as I had expected, when I got to the fabric ‘I just knew.’ Well, mostly like that: I found the fabric in black and white and liked it, then settled on the black and grey which would go better with my bed. A bit of overestimating of requirements and way too much money later, and I was on my way back home with a few quick vinnies stops on the way.

I also stopped by the weed patch which the sunflower came from, and they had suffered the same fate as Sonny so it wasn’t all me!

We just chilled at home after the airport on Friday night, but still managed to stay up late watching Bodyguard which was on since Whitney Houston died.

Saturday we got a coffee at the best coffee place in Carlton (apparently – not much of an espresso drinker myself so it’s a bit hard to tell), before meandering through Lygon St shops and buying some spices and tea at a shop there (and I bought the cutest hat!). We then used a 3-course with wine lunch voucher at a great restaurant where we got to sit in the courtyard amongst some nice shady trees.

Off to St Kilda to have a wander through Luna Park before some more wine and a game of scrabble, and then to a comedy festival to finish the night off with a laugh. A great day altogether!!

Sunday saw Italian for lunch in hardware lane, a bit of shopping at the outlet stores, and plenty of food for dinner at my favourite dumpling restaurant. We thought that we were putting in a good effort by eating 4 plates between us, but then a couple sat down next to us. Four plates to begin with, good effort.. a round of wine and a look at the menu, then follows a fifth, sixth dish.. seventh and eighth! and they finished them all without any sign of discomfort- what champions! We were amazed.

Monday we spent with Jenny, a relative of Dad’s. A bit of shopping to begin with, then I had to slip into uni for a meeting about potential tutoring. Met up again, had a quick lunch at a nice bakehouse, and caught a $6 at my local cinema thanks to it being Monday before 4pm (I might have planned for that…). It was the same movie that I’d seen the last weekend with a meetup group and loved, so I was excited to be charmed by it again. Just about fell asleep.. knew exactly what was going to happen.. might need a worse memory next time I try to see a movie twice in one week.

A trip to Kmart for some cheap kitchen essentials, and then a trip into the city for plenty of dumplings for dinner which always tops off a nice day!!

Just hanging around at home on Tuesday- put up my curtains which was proving difficult single-handedly, and a trip to the local patisserie to celebrate Valentine’s Day before the airport. Saw a guy get told his bags were overweight and that it would cost him a fortune, so asked if I could take his (kitchen) things to vinnies rather than have them thrown out. Might have scored a baking dish, but totally donated the rest before heading out to French 🙂

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

